Socktoberfest over


Retro Rib
Originally uploaded by plath.

Well, I wasn’t able to finish my Retro Rib socks, but here is my progress as of the end of Socktober. I just managed to start the heel last night, while watching House. It takes a few rounds to really get into the rhythm of the pattern, but it’s smooth knitting once you do. I’m really happy with how they’re turning out 🙂

Just a reminder, I’m using Socks that Rock in Moonlight Revel. The socks look perfectly autumn! I’m sure many bloggers are mentioning the fact that Blue Moon opened up registration for their Rockin Socks Club for 2007. I had told Jason a few months ago that I wanted a subscription for Christmas this year, so I was really disappointed to see how much the price had jumped. I won’t be joining. I really can’t justify spending $35 per pair, when I could buy just the yarn for $19 (lightweight) or $21 (mediumweight). It is nice, however, that for next year’s club, the colorways really are special, because they won’t be available to the general public until 2008. BUT, I’ve decided to ask for a wheel (just need to decide between the Ashford Traditional or the Lendrum Saxony) and that’s two high priced gifts. I’d rather have the wheel than 6 pairs of sock yarn, even if it is fantastic! I did, however, add a few of their newly listed colorways to my wists.

Leave a Reply

