Need knitting books?

Amazon has some amazing deals on a few knitting books right now. Plus, if you spend $25 you get free shipping.

I’ve been meaning to do a review of this book for a while– I purchased it a few months ago, and absolutely love it. There are a few great basic patterns for charity knitting, and the stories that go along with them are very inspiring and make me want to knit soley for charity. I paid about $10 more for the book, and it was worth it at that price. If you don’t have this one, go buy it now, because this price is ridiculous!

$5.99

I love the Stitch n Bitch books. I don’t think I’ve knit anything out of this one (yet), but I do like browsing through ~ the patterns are inspiring!

$4.79

Now for this set, I confess I don’t have Knitting Nature, but I absolutely love Last Minute Knitted Gifts, and have knit quite a few things from it, including the Hourglass sweater, which is one of my favorite knits. In fact, I’m currently knitting up the little kids placket sweater from the book right now. I paid more for just the copy of Last Minute Knitted Gifts, and for this price you get both books! I’m almost tempted to buy the set myself even though I already have one of them.
Knitting Nature/Last Minute Knitted Gifts 2 pack for $17.89:

These books I do not have, so I don’t have a review, but they’re excellent deals nonetheless, and a few are going in my cart!

$8.96


$8.13


$4.50

Thank you so much to everyone who left comments about my recent miscarriage. With each day that passes, it gets a little easier, although the pain will never completely go away (nor do I expect it to). My heart goes out to everyone who has dealt with this and doesn’t speak about it.

If you read through my book reviews, you saw that I mentioned I was knitting again. I cast on for the Child’s Placket Sweater from Last Minute Knitted Gifts in the infant size. I’m using light green Knit Pick’s Mainline yarn, and it’s knitting up quite nicely. I don’t know why I’m so hooked on knitting baby projects, but I think it’s just my way of dealing with everything that’s going on. I suppose you could think it’s a bit twisted, but it’s my way of not giving up hope.
Last but not least, Jen tagged me for the Random Meme, so here goes.

Each person tagged gives 7 random facts about themselves. Those who are tagged need to write on their own blog those 7 facts as well as the rules of the game. You need to tag seven others and list their names on your blog. You have to leave those you plan on tagging a note in their comments so they know that they have been tagged and to read your blog.

1. When I eat pizza rolls, I eat the filling out of all of them first, and then eat the outsides. Yes, I realize this is gross, but it’s very yummy. In fact I want some pizza rolls right now. (and it’s 9 am ~ yes I’m disturbing)

2. I have recently become addicted to Greek yogurt. I’ve never been a big yogurt fan, but greek yogurt tastes like a cross between sour cream and ricotta cheese ~ very creamy and rich. It’s great with a little ground flaxseed or fresh fruit, and dh loves it with honey.

3. I still enjoy coloring in coloring books. I think a lot of the appeal is that there is nothing like the smell of a brand new box of Crayola crayons.

4. I’m not afraid of snakes. This one kind of stupefies dh a bit, as we’ve found a few snakes in our yard lately, and I end up scaring them away because I try get too close to them so I can see them up close. He thinks this is so funny, because he expects me to run away screaming. On a related note, I’m also not afraid of frogs, toads or mice.

5. On the other hand, I’m deathly afraid of centipedes and millipedes. Just the thought of them completely creeps me out. *shudder*

6. I absolutely love riding in a super-fast car. Dh used to have a Dodge Shelby (it looked like this one), and it was totally a sleeper car. It looks just like a Dodge Shadow, but it’s a turbo, and can really take off. We had so much fun blowing away Mustangs and Camaros and completely taking them by surprise. We sold it so we’d be able to afford our wedding, and boy do I miss it. Only 750 were ever made.

7. I’ve never had a real nickname, and I hate that about my name. There’s not much you can do with the name Lisa for nicknames. My high school friends did call me Gidget for a while, because I loved the show, and I guess I look a little like a younger Sally Field.

I’m not very good at following rules and never tag anyone, so if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged and feel free to play along! P.S. Jen, you didn’t follow the rules either, so no yelling at me, you even number lover you 😉

2 Responses to “Need knitting books?”

  1. Jen Says:

    Thanks for the 7 Random Things! 🙂 I am glad that you are starting to feel better. I know you have had a rough go of things lately.

    And, I can’t believe that you are not scared of mice. Oh man, I had one in my apartment last winter and when it was discovered and seen by the boy, I screamed and jumped on the couch (and I wasn’t even the one who saw it)!!

    Have a nice, relaxing, wonderful long weekend!

  2. Shannon Says:

    I love coloring and I’m not afraid of snakes. I also very much dislike centipedes, millipedes, and basically worms of all sorts.

Leave a Reply

