Happy Monday

I spent a lot of time over the weekend reading Dream When You’re Feeling Blue: A Novel I LOVED this book… until the last 30 pages. Not to give away the ending, but I was expecting one thing to happen, but what happened as a result was truly shocking, and I didn’t like it at all. In fact, I think I freaked Jason out a bit at my anger after I finished…
Normally I love Elizabeth Berg’s books, so I was saddened when I didn’t like this one in the end. It’s about two sisters during WWII who’s boyfriends are fighting in the war. I loved how I felt transported back to the 1940s –it really made me think about how difficult times must have been back then, and the patriotism everyone had to possess. I just wish it ended differently!

I told you I would share my birthday presents, and here are the books I received:
Fitted Knits: 25 Designs for the Fashionable Knitter and No Sheep for You: Knit Happy with Cotton, Silk, Linen, Hemp, Bamboo & Other Delights. I haven’t had a chance to really peruse Fitted Knits, but I love Stephanie Japel’s patterns, so I can’t wait to really pore over it. I really like No Sheep for You. Not sure what I’ll be knitting up first, but there are quite a few patterns that interested me, and I loved the descriptions of the all the non-wool yarns in the beginning. And courtesy of my brother, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Book 7) will be arriving July 21st! Too bad I’ll be in California when it arrives though!! My mom also got me some of the new Cotton Ease in the lime color– I’m excited to try out the new colors!

Haven’t been knitting too much lately, but I have been embroidering. One project is a gift, so no pictures forthcoming of it, I hope to have a pic of the other one soon. My sis got me Sublime Stitching’s Winterland patterns and some floss, so maybe I’ll start a Christmas project… I’m thinking napkins would be cute. She also got me the Clover Needle felting tool, which I haven’t tried out yet, but can’t wait to.

Speaking of stitching, MIL gave me a pieced quilt she and GMIL (grandmother in law) put together a long time ago, that was never stitched together. My part of the project is to stitch it together (is there a fancy name for that?– probably quilt) and then she’ll help me with the binding.

Jason’s present to me is going to be a new tattoo that he has yet to draw. I’m thinking a big back piece in a floral design. I also plan on getting two nautical stars on my hips to represent my miscarriages.

We went to see Transformers this weekend.  I was not so enthused to go and see this movie, but I actually ended up really liking it! I thought Shia was a great actor in it (used to watch him in Even Stevens!), and there were quite a few scenes that were hilarious. I didn’t watch a lot of Transformers when I was a kid– I preferred GI Joe (I LOVED the PSAs–And knowing is half the battle!), although I did watch it ocassionally. Jason was a huge fan, and liked the movie as well.

Still waiting on my Ravelry invite… I hate being the only knitting loser without one!*

*Technically I know that’s not true and many are still waiting for their’s, but it still makes me feel like the loser who can’t get into the cool club yet

Edited to add: Threadless restocked the cute Insomnia tee featuring sheep! This tee also makes me laugh.

4 Responses to “Happy Monday”

  1. Sharon Says:

    I’m a longtime Berg fan also, and in spite of your disappointment with the ending, I’m sure I will read this one too. Also waiting for my ravelry invite, although I’m not all that excited by it. It sounds like WORK to get all my info and photos posted.

  2. minnie Says:

    email me, i’ve got a feel-better present for ya

  3. Shannon Says:

    I am also waiting for ravelry. Even if i did get in, I probably would update it. I am really bad about that. I also got Deathly Hollows for my birthday, but that was back in March. I’m so excited that it’s only a few weeks away.

  4. Jen Says:

    Oh, you got good knitting books! And don’t worry–I too am a knitting loser without a ravelry invite. Everyday I check my email, hoping it will be there. 🙂 Hopefully we will be in the cool kids club soon!

Leave a Reply

