Belated Birthday Present

Imagine my surprise when I opened my mailbox yesterday and saw an envelope from Canada. Now I haven’t ordered yarn in ages, so I know it couldn’t be an order from anyplace… Even though I sometimes suffer from a tad of yarn-buying amnesia, I knew that wasn’t the case this time, as certainly I would have remembered ordering from out of the country!  After seeing who it was from, I was so befuddled I promptly dropped it in the dog’s water dish. Shouting f*ck and scaring the pee out of the dog, I immediately pulled it out and ripped it open.

RAOK from Stephanie Pearl-McPhee (Yarn Harlot)

Fantastic summer sock yarn! Can you see who it’s from? The Yarn Harlot herself, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee. I feel so special 🙂 She writes in her note, that she had some “extra sock yarn.” Um… who has extra sock yarn? Is it possible to have “extra” sock yarn? From the woman with a house of wool, I think she’s fibbing a bit… but I certainly appreciate her “extra yarn” even if I don’t believe it 🙂

In knitting news, I did something crazy and cast on for a pattern the day it was available. Boogie’s Sprout pattern just called out to me, and made me cast on.

Sprout sleeve
I even had to be completely unimaginative and cast on in close to the same color of yarn. Can I help it if I *love* that bright spring green color? Just a start of a sleeve, but I’m knitting again! I’m using my new Cotton Ease. My idea was that this would be the perfect San Francisco sweater. However, we leave a week from today. I think in this case, I was very imaginative…

But speaking of San Francisco (and Sonoma and Yosemite), I’m so excited for our trip! I’ve already started pre-packing. Am I the only one that does this? I set aside things that I must bring with me. I already have yarn picked out for a pair of vacation socks (using this Panda Cotton), have decided which embroidery project to bring for when I don’t feel like knitting (Sublime Stiching’s Winterland on a kitchen towel), have my swimsuits and a few clothing items all set aside to go in the suitcase, and have started planning my snack for the flight. I also make lists like crazy of things to purchase, as well as things I can’t remember to pack. I’m a huge list-maker. The trouble is, I make lists constantly and then end up losing the list. I already have my list made up of wineries to visit, and our day in Yosemite is all planned out, plus I have my list of must-see San Francisco sites. Just writing this blog-post, I’ve already thought of a few things to add to my must-bring list (camera charger, corkscrew, cool wine vacuum-y thing we have, etc).

In tv news, anyone else think Big Brother 8 is kind of blah? I’m loving Hell’s Kitchen, on the other hand. I’m rooting for Julia, the Waffle House short-order cook. Nothing else excites me on tv, and in fact my Tivo is pretty much empty except for my guilty pleasure, (whispers) Y&R. Say something about it, I dare you! My mom used to watch this when I was a kid, and I, of course watched right along with her when I was home sick from school, or on the occasional rainy summer day when my My Little Ponies or Matchbox cars weren’t interesting me.

4 Responses to “Belated Birthday Present”

  1. Jenny Raye Says:

    Wow! Pressie from The Harlot! What a great belated birthday gift!

  2. Jen Says:

    Wow! Yarn from the Yarn Harlot! That is so awesome. And such pretty yarn too!

    I always pre-pack for vacation too. And make lists. I swear we are the same person when it comes to vacations. I read your entry and was like, “yeah I do that.” I am going on vacation in two-ish weeks and the yarn for the vacation socks is going to be wound today. 🙂

  3. Noreen Says:

    It’s Һard tto find eɗucated people on this topic, but you sound like you know ѡhat you’re
    talking ɑbout! Thanks

  4. Carpet Cleaning Bedford Says:

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished
    to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your rrss feed and I hope you
    write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

