Sick and Pregnant

Nothing like being sick and pregnant… Guess it’s better than sick and tired of BEING pregnant, which I’m certainly not (yet). I guess I was due, as I haven’t been sick in over a year, but I’ve been sick for the past week with a nasty cold. I’m sure the baby really appreciated all the coughing, but *finally* I’m feeling better. Everything’s going well with the pregnancy. I passed my glucose screening a few weeks ago, and now I’m just anticipating the group b strep check I have in 4 weeks. We have our last Bradley class tomorrow, will have the hospital tour next weekend, and then the breastfeeding class on March 3rd. Things are falling into place!

The baby shower in Ohio last weekend went well. It was small, with just family attending which was nice, and my mom and sister were amazing and got us the car seat and cloth diapers we needed! BUT, the best part of the shower?

Shower Cake
The cake. I’m not a big cake fan, but mmmmmm…. from my favorite bakery of all time now called Ele Cake Company (was Woody’s baker in West Carrollton, then A Taste of Elegance in Miamisburg and now they’ve moved back to the former Woody’s location and are called Ele Cake Company). Sure, I gained 4 pounds in two weeks, which I largely attribute to the four pieces of cake I had last weekend (and the delicious Mexican food, Donatos pizza and the lunch buffet at Amar India), but it was worth it… drool… Here are the rest of the pictures from my shower in Ohio if you’re interested.

I’ve been working this past week on freezing a few meals before the baby gets here, so hopefully we’ll have a nicely stocked freezer come April. So far, I’ve frozen stuffed green peppers plus an extra bag of filling for another batch, 2 packages of cooked ground turkey to throw into spaghetti, a few cooked chicken breasts, and am planning on freezing a spinach pie and a broccoli quiche today. Also planned are more cooked ground turkey, sloppy joe filling, lasagna, turkey meatloaf, stroganoff casserole and shepherd’s pie. I found this site to be a great resource.

I even managed to get some knitting done. See?
knitting

Here they are finished, hanging out in the new car seat:

Shorties using the Picky Pants pattern, which Mountain Colors Twizzle. They’re a little floppy feeling, due to the silk content, I’m sure, but oh so yummy.
Shorties
And once I cast off for those, I immediately cast on for another pair out of my Purewool that arrived. It’s the Grove colorway, and I love the way they turned out. I will definitely have to jump on another Purewool co-op, soon!
Shorties

And, I also decided to knit up a Baby Surprise out of purewool, as well. Here is where I’m at so far:
Baby Surprise Jacket
Not too exciting to look at so far, but I’m about halfway through the pattern. Not sure how I feel about it yet, but I’m trying to get a size that the baby could wear at a year, since it’s not too cold here until pretty late in the season. We’ll see how it shapes up!

So far I’m really liking Lost this season… but Survivor, I’m not too sure about.

If you haven’t signed up for Paypal’s competition yet, leave a comment and I’ll refer you and you get $25 to spend (or deposit into your bank account) for free! 🙂 You can only get the free $25 for the next two weeks though, so sign up now. Best of all, if you sell on Ebay or somewhere else, they don’t charge you fees to accept payments like paypal does.

2 Responses to “Sick and Pregnant”

  1. Sheila Says:

    Glad to hear that your shower was a success! As for being sick while pregnant…ughhh! If the cough continues you should drink some peppermint tea (celestial seasons has some). i used to do that all the time when i had a cold while i was pregnant! it actually helped!

    Also, I have been making the picky pants too for my cousins! I love them! It actually makes me want to have another baby so I can make some for me!

  2. Jen Says:

    Ah, your baby is going to be well dressed and lookin’ good in all the knitwear! 🙂

Leave a Reply

