A new year meme

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?
Gave birth

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I don’t think I made any new years resolutions last year. I don’t really like to make “resolutions,” because I feel they’re so easily forgotten and tossed aside, but I would like to become more “natural” minded in the coming year. Eat more local, buy less from China, purchase more handmade items from small companies and WAHMs, etc.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Do I count?

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Yes, my grandfather, Poppy.

5. What countries did you visit?
No foreign countries, although we did have a few trips to the mountains in NC and St. Pete Beach, FL

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008? more patience

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? April 6~ the day Eleanore was born

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
are you sensing a trend here? Giving birth LOL

9. What was your biggest failure?
not having the birth experience I wanted

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
No — thank goodness.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
hmmm…. sounds silly, but various cloth diapers were probably my biggest purchase last year

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
In my home, Eleanore’s milestones brought the most celebration. She’s cruising everywhere! In the nation, probably the election of Obama!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
No one in my house, but President Bush was pretty appalling this year, as was Sarah Palin.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent, mortgage, the afore mentioned cloth diapers

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Eleanore being born

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?
Lake Michigan by Rogue Wave. We heard it shortly after Eleanore was born and it just felt perfect.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? happier
b) thinner or fatter? fatter
c) richer or poorer? poorer

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
sleep

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
complain

20. How did you spend Christmas?
at home, surrounded by family 🙂

21. Did you fall in love in 2008?
yes, with my daughter

22. What was your favorite TV program?
Lost, Project Runway

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I try not to hate people

24. What was the best book you read?
I don’t know that I can name a “best.” I read a lot of drivel in 2008.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
I’m really liking Ingrid Michaelson and A Fine Frenzy

26. What did you want and get?
a family of three

27. What did you want and not get?
the birth experience I wanted

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
Hmmm… Either Wall-e or Juno

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
The big 3-0. We just hung out at home.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
comfortable

32. What kept you sane?
?

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I’m trying to step away from the whole celebrity fanciness. Blah. Too superficial.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
Sarah Palin as vice presidential nominee, and the breastfeeding “wars” on facebook and elsewhere

35. Who did you miss?
being so far away from family

36. Who was the best new person you met?
a few LKN moms

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.
To take things one day (or hour, or minute, if needed) at a time

Our New Years eve? We all went to bed around 9:30. LOL

I’m not calling it a resolution, but I did join the Knitting from the Shelf group over on Ravelry. I think it’s about time I actual make use of the knitting books and yarn I’ve already purchased.

More knitting news and (gasp) sewing news to come…

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “A new year meme”

  1. Posts about Mashups and Memes as of January 4, 2009 | The Lessnau Lounge Says:

    […] was to insinuate that Israel is overreacting to Hamas attacks that have been largely harmless A new year meme – plathsadventures.com 01/04/2009 1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before? Gave […]

  2. Baseball Mom Says:

    Nice list. I am sure you will get loads of knitting done this year. I have an award for you on my blog today!! :)) I totally believe you show & have both great attitude and gratitude.

    Happy Monday!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

