Late to the party

I know the no knead trend has been around the blog world for quite a while now, but I’m just now joining the party. I stumbled upon this recipe through a facebook friend who linked me to the Mother Earth news website and decided to give it a go. I’m now hooked. It is super easy, and only takes a few minutes to throw everything together, plus one real “rise time” of 2 hours the first day (and 40 minutes rise plus 30 minutes bake time each day you want to make a loaf). It’s not fussy, you don’t have to proof your yeast or let the dough rise until doubled, etc. Just mix it all together and then store it in the fridge and it’s ready to go whenever you need more fresh bread.
It’s actually a recipe from this book Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day: The Discovery That Revolutionizes Home Baking
which I checked out of the library yesterday and definitely need to purchase a copy of, as I see many variations on the recipe that I *must* try. My only tip? Do not use a pyrex dish as your steamer pan. I tried it the first day and had a nice explosion of glass shards all over my oven and kitchen. Yes, I had an exploding pyrex dish. Fun. After a quick google search, I found out that I wasn’t the only one. I now use an enamel pan.
picklesandjam
I’ve been on a domesticity kick this summer. We’ve been hitting the Ann Arbor Farmer’s market quite frequently this year, as well as Spicer’s Orchard to pick blueberries and raspberries (and we’ll be back for apples and pumpkins in the fall), and I’ve put up lots. Three big bags of blueberries in the freezer, a batch of blueberry jam, blueberry lime jam, raspberry jam, dill pickles and bread and butter pickles. So 14 jars of jam (plus 3 in the fridge and 5 given away to family), 12 jars of pickles (plus one already eaten. Oh how I love bread and butter pickles), not to mention the blueberry crisps and blueberry banana breads that have been made as well. The blueberries are Eleanore’s favorite. I wore her on my back while we picked and she would reach out and pull whole handfuls off the bushes and stuff them into her mouth before anyone could wrangle them away from her. Green, purple, blue, she didn’t care if they were ripe or not! LOL

As much as I love the summer harvest, I’m ready for fall. I’m planning mittens, sweaters and hats. I recently finished this set for a customer, and am working on matching socks right now.
Turning Leaves
It’s the Turning Leaves colorway from Mosaic Moon.
I’m not sure how she’s going to like them, but I experimented a bit on the socks, knitting a little elvish toe. If she doesn’t like it, I can frog the toe no problems 😉
elfsock
They’re both finished now and are drying after being blocked. My customer is out of town, though, so I have to wait to hear what she thinks. I’m working on a pair of longies out of Nurturing Threads Black Dragonfly colorway right now, for a stocking at Their Own Knitted World in September.

Leave a Reply

