Oh Christmas Tree

Sunday was a beautiful day, warm but the ground was still covered with snow, so we decided it was the perfect day to cut our Christmas tree. However, we got to the farm and were delighted to discover that they sold balled trees, as well as cut, so rather than cutting one down that day and bringing it home, we picked one out that will be dug up later this week, and then planted in our yard after Christmas. It will take a little getting used to for me, as balled trees should only be inside for no more than 7 days, but it will be so worth it to watch our old Christmas tree grow as the years go by.

Eleanore loved getting out in the snow to play amongst the trees.
DSC_1520web

I’ve been having fun putting together a few books for her for Christmas. So far, I’ve managed to pick up these from Paperbackswap. It’s so amazing being able to find nice books for free! And hardcovers, too; don’t let the name deceive you! You sign up and list books that you no longer want, and get to order books for yourself.
The Snow Tree by Caroline Repchuk ~ beautiful embossed pages and story of a bear who wakes up to discover snow.
Happy Winter by Karen Gundersheimer This one appears to be out of print, but it’s a nice story of a girl and her sister having fun on a winter day.
When Winter Comes by Nancy Van Laan ~ I love this story. It tells of what happens to all the animals and plants when winter arrives.
The Wild Christmas Reindeer by Jan Brett~ I think Eleanore is a bit young for this lengthy story right now, but she loves looking at the gorgeous illustrations.

I’ve also been working on some Christmas knitting. I managed to get a picture of her plain jane longies to match her pinafore.
plain jane longies
I never realized how difficult it was to take a picture of natural colored pants before! They look much better in person, I promise.
I also finished a pair of socks to tuck into her stocking.
christmas socks
I’m still working on the fingerless gloves for Jason. It’s slow going, as I don’t get in much knitting time during the day, so I mainly work on them after I take Eleanore to bed.

If you’re in need of a last minute gift for someone, I listed a few hand knit and felted bags in my store Clean Hippie. A few varieties of soap are available, too!

I hope you have a wonderful winter week. We’ll be enjoying the snow.
DSC_1566web

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

