The stockings were hung by the chimney with care (sort of)

DSC_1642web

Well, Christmas came and went. Eleanore is really starting to understand receiving gifts and loved unwrapping her presents. All of the handmade gifts went over well, including Jason’s fingerless gloves and my mother in law’s socks. The most impressive handmade gift, however, was the play kitchen Jason made for Eleanore. He built it, and I helped sand and polish it with beeswax. It turned out beautifully.

Play kitchen made by dh

Eleanore was actually even big enough this year to help make the Christmas eve cookies.
Making Christmas cookies
My little girl is getting so big.
DSC_0050web

I will have to add a picture later, but Jason got me an amazing set of vintage mason jars from the 20s or 30s. They’re a beautiful blue glass, and will be so pretty filled with fruit or vegetables come canning season again. It’s a perfectly sequential set from all of the molds that year from 0-15, so it’s quite an impressive set. He also got me a record player, and it’s so great to pull out my old records and be able to listen to them again. There is nothing like the sound of a record playing.

We still need to exchange gifts with my family. They’re coming to visit for New Years and it will be so nice to see them.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “The stockings were hung by the chimney with care (sort of)”

  1. Jen Says:

    Beautiful play kitchen! Glad you had a great Christmas!

  2. Tonya Says:

    What a wonderful play kitchen and extra special because it was handmade. Glad to have found your blog.
    Many warm wishes.

  3. gardenmama Says:

    The vintage mason jars sound lovely, we have quite a thing for them at our house too! And I must agree about a record player, we only use records at home and really love the sound! I am in awe of the play kitchen! Such beautiful work and even lovelier that you and your husband worked together on it a true heirloom!

  4. Zifara Says:

    Love the quote by ER! I had no idea there was a magazine foeucsd on art journaling. That’s so cool. I just called it doodling. When I’m working something out about a character I draw faces – the eyes – over and over sometimes – until it comes to me. Fascinating. =D

Leave a Reply

