First week of One Small Change

I’m doing well so far on my One Small Change challenge of no shopping for the month, unless it’s handmade or secondhand. I won’t say it’s been easy (and it’s only January 7), but I’m a big bargain shopper, so to stay away from the clearance sales online and in the big box stores like Kohls and Meijer (which are less than half a mile from my house) has taken a bit of willpower (not to mention, the Hanna Andersson clearance sale…). It has been especially difficult, as Jason went back to work on Monday after almost three weeks off work, and Eleanore has had a bit of trouble dealing with her daddy being gone. I’m almost ashamed to admit that I sometimes take drives for her to nap on fussy days (perhaps that should be a small change for a future month?), and quite often find myself driving to one of those stores while out just for something to do, or a reason to be driving.

I have been able to restrain myself, and even decided this week to make myself something “new” rather than to shop for something. I’ve been wanting a new tablecloth for quite some time, and I have baskets of fabric, so I figured why not just sew one up? The problem is that most of my fabric stash was purchased when Eleanore was small, with the intention of making baby pants or tunic dresses, so I have lots of 1/2 yards and single yards of almost everything. I do, however, have 4 vintage bed sheets I picked up while thrifting, with the intention of piecing some quilts (something I’ve always wanted to try, but have never managed to make the time for). The perfect size for a tablecloth, and while I was at it, I even had plenty leftover for 4 matching napkins!
tablecloth & napkins
Please pardon my failure to iron all the wrinkles out after washing. *Blush.* I never claimed to do it all.

I also have a few belated pictures I promised a few weeks ago. Here are Jason’s fingerless mitts I knit for him. They’re worked from Peace Fleece, one of my favorite yarns ever. Dh loves it, too.
fingerless mitts I knit for Jason.
And here are the fantastic Mason jars he gifted me. There are 16 in total.
mason jars Jason got me for Christmas

I’m feeling the urge to thrift today, and I’m not sure if I’ll let myself or not. I love thrifting, even if I don’t have a plan. Perhaps someone will need a nap…

Tags:

One Response to “First week of One Small Change”

  1. Planning Ahead « Plath’s Adventures Says:

    […] was a dress for the doll. I had some fabric left from the vintage sheet I used to make our tablecloth, so I pulled that out with this free pattern and got to […]

Leave a Reply

