Planning Ahead

I must be looking forward to Spring, because I’ve already started thinking about and planning for Eleanore’s April birthday. I have quite a few projects I’d like to complete before her birthday, so I decided to go ahead and start them while I had the motivation. Her big gift is going to be a custom Waldorf doll, which I’ve already placed the order for from Tia of Juliebeans. I’ve had the itch to sew lately, so I decided to order her doll sans clothing, and am sewing up some clothes for her. My first project though was a doll quilt using this pattern, which I’m considering practice for a simple patchwork quilt for Eleanore. I’ve already cut out a few blocks for Eleanore’s quilt. I also did up a quick little reversible wrap skirt using an American Girl doll pattern, which I can’t find the link to at the moment.
Doll skirt and quilt for Eleanore's Waldorf doll

Next was a dress for the doll. I had some fabric left from the vintage sheet I used to make our tablecloth, so I pulled that out with this free pattern and got to work.
Doll dress for Eleanore's Waldorf doll

The pattern was very easy to follow, so I decided to try the toddler version, and to make a matching doll dress as well. I have a few vintage bed sheets in my small fabric stash, so I figured it would be perfect.
Dresses

They are far from perfect, but I’m impressed that they turned out so well! The dress should fit Eleanore well around her birthday, as it’s a tad big right now.

I think vintage sheets are going to always be on my list of things to search for at thrift stores now! I never know how much yardage to buy when I’m fabric shopping and see something I love, but with sheets, there’s quite a bit to work with. Perfect for fabric stashes! I now feel like fabric shopping, but am going to restrain myself according to my One Small Change challenge.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

