Thrifty Trip

This past week, Jason has been in California for a business trip, so Eleanore and I decided to take a trip down to my parents’ house in southern Ohio. I was excited to do some thrift and antique shopping while we were down there, even though we were snowed in for a few days, and managed to snag a few things.

First we hit all the local thrift shops, and I found this apron at one:
vintage apron
I love how bright and cheery it is. I also found a few vintage children’s books.
Children's Books
I’m always on the lookout for old children’s books with their beautiful illustrations.
On Saturday, we headed out to the Waynesville Antique stores. With more than 10 antique shops (and two are antique “malls” with numerous vendor booths inside), I always manage to find something tucked into a corner. My favorite is Mad Anthony Curio Mall, where I found these jars for a steal to match the set Jason gave me for Christmas.
vintagejars
And this vintage fabric. I think the red will make a gorgeous table cloth.
vintage fabric

We just drove home yesterday, in time to beat another big snowfall for Ohio. We pulled in the driveway and immediately got stuck at the bottom, so technically, we’re snowed in as well. It’s a good thing all we need to do is rest and recover from our trip today, and Jason will be able to pull us out tomorrow after he flies home. It will be a baking and laundry day. I’m just about to mix up a big bowl of bread dough from one of my new cookbooks. Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day and Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day.

Leave a Reply

