Martinmas and WIP/FO Wednesday

In anticipation of Martinmas this year, Eleanore and I crafted two jar lanterns. Using old spaghetti sauce jars, we painted them with watered down glue.

DSC_0150web

DSC_0154web

Then we patiently applied squares of tissue paper.
DSC_0155web

and painted them with another light layer of watered down glue. Here they are before they were dry:
DSC_0159web

and here they are once we added the candles.
Lanterns
We still need to add the twine handles, but we’ve been using them at dinnertime already to light the dark evening.

WIP/FO Wednesday

Daylight savings time is here, and along with the early dark evenings, that means the cool weather will be here soon as well (even if it is supposed to be in the 60s the next few days…), and I am getting prepared, knitting-wise.

Eleanore’s Peace Fleece mittens are finished:
Eleanore's mittens
and they turned out great. I can’t believe how much bigger I needed to knit them than last year’s mittens, also knit of Peace Fleece.

And I also knit up this adorable Little Pip Acorn Cap, designed by a blogger whose blog I love to read using the grassroots colorway of Peace Fleece, which Eleanore picked out.
DSC_0177web

Next up that I want to knit is this Lil Midi Bean hat for the bambino, but I’m not sure I have the right yarn in my stash for it. I’d love to knit it in a natural color in perhaps a silk/merino blend, but I may settle for the koigu I know I have somewhere in my stash, but I just need to find it. Until then, I think I’ll whip up a quick pair of size small longies. We don’t have many newborn or small longies, as Eleanore was in shorties and soakers a lot since she was born in April in North Carolina.

In honor of the upcoming Martinmas holiday (tomorrow), here is one of my favorite Martinmas stories:
The Lantern
There was once a boy called George who had been outside in the garden all through the Summer running after the butterflies, jumping like a grasshopper, singing like a bird, and trying to catch the sunlight. One day when he was lying on his back in the meadow gazing up into the sun-filled sky, he said, “Dear Brother Sun, soon the Autumn winds will blow and wail, and Jack Frost will come and make us all freeze, and the nights will be long and cold.”

Brother Sun pushed the clouds aside and said, “Yes, it will be dark and cold. In the deep midwinter, warmth and light live deep within, hidden from sight. In the time of dark and cold, you will tend the Light Within.”

“But,” said George, “How will I tend this Light when it’s dark everywhere around me?”

“I will give you a spark of my last Autumn rays once you have made a little house for it, for this spark must be guarded well. It will light the way for you to tend the Light Within throughout the time of dark and cold.”

And then Brother Sun once hid again behind a cloud.

George went home and wondered how best he could make a little house for the spark of the sun. He took a thick piece of paper and painted a beautiful blue and yellow watercolor upon it. When it was dry, he cut windows into his painting. Then he placed colored tissue paper on the back of his watercolor – and – he formed it into a lantern. He took a candle and put it into the middle of his lantern. And, as it was growing dark, he went outside with it.

George held the lantern up above him and said, “Brother Sun, I have made a little home for one of your golden sparks. Please may I have one? I will guard it well.”

Then Brother Sun looked out from behind a cloud and said, “You have made a beautiful home. I shall give you one of my golden sparks.”

And suddenly, George saw how the windows of his lantern were lit up, and as he looked into the lantern, he saw a spark happily dancing on top of the candle. Oh, how happy the light was in his lovely lantern! It shone and shone so brightly.

“Thank you, Brother Sun,” George called out, “Thank you.” And he took his lantern and carried it carefully home singing:

The sunlight fast is dwindling,
My little lamp needs kindling
Its beam shines far in darkest night,
Dear Lantern, guard me with your light.

~ from Autumn, Wynstones Press, originally by M. Meyerkort, and revised by L. Sutter

5 Responses to “Martinmas and WIP/FO Wednesday”

  1. Jezebel Says:

    I just want to know how you get Eleanore to sit still for a picture!

  2. Kyrie Says:

    What a little doll! The mittens are darling, too.

  3. Melissa Says:

    Hi there, can you please tell me what pattern you used for the mittens? So cute! I would like to make a pair for my 18-mo. old

  4. Kristen Says:

    I love that craft idea with the jars! Can I come over and play 🙂 Haha.

Leave a Reply

