Mama’s Winter Crafting

detergent

I’ve been doing some crafting as well. Besides the usual knitting, I also came back from our week-long trip to my parents house and realized we were out of laundry detergent. While Eleanore played with her new play dough, I whipped up a batch. I love not having to use the commercial stuff, and it works great on Adelaide’s cloth diapers, as well. **I will note that we don’t use much PUL for our diapers ~ our stash consists primarily of wool, prefolds and cotton fitted diapers. The only time we use PUL covers or AIOs is if we’re going to be out and about for a long time. So YYMV on whether this detergent will work for your cloth diapers. ** I use soulemama’s basic recipe, but I substitute Kirk’s Castile for the Dr. Bronner’s, which is easier to find without a trip to the health food store (which is 30-40 minutes away). I also add orange or lavender essential oil.
detergent2
Sigh. Reading soulemama’s blog post, I can’t wait until it’s clothesline weather. We just got another 10 inches of snow dumped on us.

And of course, I’ve been knitting. One pair of longies for Adelaide finished from Mosaic Moon Double Chocolate Lollipop:
DSC_0655web
and another pair allllmost finished. I ran out of the lemongrass Cestari with only a few rows to go 😦 I’m hoping someone takes pity on me and can hook me up. Yarn is on it’s way! Thanks Dev!
DSC_0654web

and I took a break from the current longies I’m knitting to whip up a pair of baby booties from a pattern I’m testing for a friend.
DSC_0700-(2)web

I’m doing well on my 52in52 challenge. I’m attempting to knit 52 items in 2011, which averages to one item a week. So far, I’m up to ten.

One Response to “Mama’s Winter Crafting”

  1. Jezebel Says:

    Now we just have to get you to make your own soap. I’ve got 50 pounds of suet waiting for me to have enough spare goats milk to get a batch made!

Leave a Reply

