It’s been three years

from when we first met
IMG_1723
IMG_1707
You have made us laugh every day.
IMG_5175
Goofy Eleanore
We look forward to many more goofy, silly moments.

I wasn’t going to make Eleanore a new crown this year, but last weekend she found her crown from last year and has been wearing it since, so I figured a new one was in order this year after all. I used this tutorial and whipped one up the other night. Wool felt crowns are incredibly easy to make. My sewing skills are not fabulous at all, and they only take me an evening. You know if I can make it, then anyone can.
Eleanore's 3rd birthday crown
It was a dreary, overcast day yesterday, so my pictures are dark.
3rd birthday
Presents
Eleanore has been obsessed with butterflies and bugs lately, so her main gift this year was butterfly themed. She got these books on butterflies: From Caterpillar to Butterfly (Let’s-Read-and-Find-Out Science, Stage 1) and this great pop-up book I found at paperbackswap: The Butterfly It looks like there might still be one available to order at paperbackswap!
And this Insect Lore Live Butterfly Garden. Our spring project will be watching caterpillars grow up to become butterflies! We’re both excited.
Playing with her new felt board
Jason and I also made her a felt board. Making a felt board has been on my to do list for over a year now and I finally got up the motivation to put one together for her. Jason took a piece of 1/4 inch birch and cut it into a 2 ft x 2 ft square. He sprayed it with adhesive spray and covered it with wool felt. I ordered my wool felt from the store Prairie Point Junction. Then it was my turn. I set to work cutting things out of felt. I am not so great at free drawing things, so printable patterns are my friend, and there are so many great felt shape ideas out there. These paperdolls are amazing. I got the idea for the weather pieces from counting coconuts, and cut them out sans patterns. I also used a few felt board books from the library, but wasn’t too impressed with most of them (that’s where the whale, crocodile and a few others came from). Flowers were super easy to make ~ just cutting out three different sized circles and a stem, they’re fun to put together on the board. Another great resource for simple shapes is printable coloring pages. That’s where I got the outlines for the fish, chicken and bird. These cupcakes are also adorable.
new felt board
She loves it!

One Response to “It’s been three years”

  1. Julie Says:

    Happy third birthday Eleanore! I love the crown as well as the felt board. I am always creatively inspired after visiting here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

