Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary


How does our garden grow? It’s time for our last check-in with the Homeschool Village Garden Challenge!

From compost and dirt in the spring
DSC_0432web

To full beds and everything growing! Not much to harvest yet, but our corn is huge, a lot bigger than the field corn we’ve seen growing. It was a tough year for farmers, but we’re definitely knee high by the fourth of July. I’m hoping we get good pollination so we have lots of ears, but we’ve never grown corn in our raised beds, so it’s a gamble. They are at the top of a hill with a good breeze that blows through, so hopefully we do ok.
DSC_0828web

Our cucumbers have their first blooms and the bush beans are up.
DSC_0835web

Our peppers don’t look so great, but we’ll see. Even the plants we bought seem sort of stunted. Maybe it’s been too wet.
DSC_0829web

Our tomatoes are growing great, and have started blooming.
DSC_0830web

Acorn squash and zucchini are growing well, and my catnip and oregano are threatening to take over my herb bed.  I need to cut them back and dry bunches.
DSC_0832web
I forgot to snap a picture, but our pumpkin plants are doing fine, too.

I’ve been harvesting and drying lots of chamomile and my garlic scapes are ready to be picked, too.
We’ve let our back hill grow wild, so we’ve been picking nice bouquets of wild ox eye daisies and purple hairy vetch for our summer nature table, and red clover to dry for tea.
DSC_0824web

I failed to snag a picture, but I did manage to make two batches of strawberry jam from a flat of strawberries we picked up at Spicer’s. One with sugar and one with honey and apple juice as the sweetener. Eleanore loved helping me wash the strawberries, measure out the ingredients and count the jars and lids to help me make the jam, and she’s definitely been enjoying the jam on her sandwiches and toast.

I think it might be time to pull out two of our Before Five in a Row books that touch on gardening and expand on some of the activities we rowed last year:
The Carrot Seedgreat resources here
Blueberries for Salactivities here
Jamberryactivity guide here

I’ve finally managed to finish a knitting project. I feel like it’s been weeks. And that’s because it has… It took getting out of town and away from the garden for me to manage to finish this pair of scrappy short shorties for Adelaide.
DSC_0837web
Hopefully it won’t take me as long to finish the pair of shorties I cast on last night, from Three Irish Girl’s Teague colorway. I bought the yarn intending them to be for Easter, and you can see how that turned out…

I also think it’s time to break out the sewing machine. I want to sew up a quick, hopefully simple skirt for Eleanore. She’s kind of being shorted in the knitting department because it’s summer-time, so I was thinking of maybe this pattern.

6 Responses to “Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary”

  1. Andi Says:

    I love the shorties…and your garden looks great!

  2. April@M3RH Says:

    Those are three of our go-to books, too. Timeless classics. I think it’s really neat that you grow your own chamomile! Looks like your garden is well on its way!

  3. zonnah Says:

    The shorts are adorable!
    Stunted has been the word for my garden this year as well.
    Do you think you could share the honey apple juice, strawberry jam recipe? It sounds really interesting.

    • Lisa Says:

      I used the recipe in the packet of ball low sugar pectin 🙂
      4 c. mashed strawberries
      1 c. 100% apple juice
      1 c. honey
      1 pkg powdered low sugar pectin

      Mix together juice, berries and pectin. Bring to a boil, then add honey. Boil hard for 3 minutes, stirring constantly. Pour into jars and process!

  4. zonnah Says:

    Thank you! I will be trying this recipe 🙂

  5. MissMOE Says:

    Thanks for the sugar free recipe! Can’t wait to try it. And the shorts are just adorable!

Leave a Reply

