Garden Bounty, or at least loads of zucchini

DSC_0242web
We’re loving our vegetables, fresh from the garden!
Our garden is doing so-so this summer. On the positive side, this bowl of zucchini is staying filled, even though I do my best to cook some every day. Our four zucchini plants are providing us with about 3 zucchini every day, which is great. I didn’t mean to plant four zucchini, but managed to get some of our acorn squash seedlings mixed up with our zukes. Oops!
DSC_0274web
We’re enjoying roasted zucchini every few days ~ delicious with olive oil, salt and rosemary. It’s amazing on pizza as well, especially if you roast it with some onions, too. I have plans for zucchini calzones tomorrow, and I love throwing it in with peppers and onions for tacos or spaghetti. I haven’t yet baked up a batch of zucchini bread muffins, but of course that’s on my to-do list. Yesterday I baked up some zucchini egg bites that are delicious.
DSC_0369web
Eleanore disagreed, but they’ll provide a quick breakfast for me, at least. I based my recipe off this one at Naptime Chef, but changed a few things. Here’s what I came up with:

3 c. grated zucchini (one large and one small)
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 onion, finely chopped
3/4 c. shredded cheddar
3/4 c. bread crumbs
1/2 c. chopped spinach
salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 425. Grease a muffin tin, or use silicone liners. Combine all ingredients and fill each muffin tin to the top (they will shrink as they cook). Bake at 425 for 20-25 minutes or until set.
I think next time I’ll also add garlic, but they’re delicious as is!

Our beans are doing ok ~ we’ve been able to have them a few times for dinner. Adelaide seems to enjoy them, and Jason keeps snagging them right out of the garden for a quick snack. Our turnips were eaten by cabbage maggots ~ blech, so I don’t hold out my hope for the carrots or the new batch of radishes I planted. Strange that my first crop of radishes weren’t bothered at all.
DSC_0270web
Our corn is almost ready to harvest, but we have a nasty earwig infestation. Sigh.
DSC_0273web
We’ll have our first tomatoes tonight, although our plants aren’t doing too well, as they got a fungus. Our super humid summer hasn’t helped, I’m sure. I don’t see us with a huge tomato harvest this year, which is a huge bummer.

Jalapenos are slowly coming on, as are the bell peppers, my broccoli is starting to head out and my first three eggplants are growing! I’ve never grown eggplant before, so that excites me a bit. The cucumbers are slow this year. Last year we had a great harvest, so it’s probably good that I put up so many pickles last year. I managed to pickle two pints last weekend, but unless they really pick up, I don’t know if I’ll have a lot this year. I did pickle up something new last weekend~ a pint of Egyptian walking onion heads. A little different, and I’m not sure what I’ll use them for, but I read that you could do it, so I decided to give it a try. Not many people use their walking onions, but everything on them is edible ~ the stalks as a green onion, the root or bulb as a cooking onion, as well as the seed bulbs that “flower” at the top.

2 Responses to “Garden Bounty, or at least loads of zucchini”

  1. Jezebel Says:

    Zucchini Fritters are yummy too!

  2. nic - the auspicious squirrel Says:

    Wow that’s a lot of zucchini! Awesome that you are going to try my zucchini calzones. 🙂 Thanks for linking back to me.

Leave a Reply

