Naptime solution!

DSC_0061web

Adelaide is growing and mobile, and we’ve long had an issue with naptime for her. We don’t use a crib at all as we co-sleep and we all share the same king sized bed. However, the bed, even with rails, is a bit too high for me to feel comfortable putting her down for naps in it unless I was to nap next to her. With a three year old who doesn’t nap (and never really has), this doesn’t work. When Adelaide was small, we had the co-sleeper set up in the living room for her to nap in, but she’s long outgrown it so we would have to be right there to make sure she didn’t tumble out of it once she awoke. So I’ve been looking for a solution. We could use the pack and play that we use while we’re camping for naps, but honestly, I just feel all that plastic is ugly and don’t really want it in the house. I thought about sewing up a cushion for her, but I also had a desire to make it washable. When I saw this great cushion on pinterest (my new favorite website!), I knew I could make it work for me. Five pillows was definitely too large for what I needed, so I shrunk it down to two.
DSC_0072web
A perfect use for the vintage pillowcases I’m always picking up at the thrift store! I sewed the two pillowcases together, added two velcro strips to the ends to hold the pillows in and voila! A washable, foldable solution for naps.
DSC_0080web
Eleanore loves it so much, I’m going to have to sew a larger one up for her, too.
DSC_0079web
It’s a good thing I was able to finish the rainbow balls so I could knock out some more crafts. They were definitely tedius, but I love the way they worked up. Once I got two under my belt, the last three braided up really quickly. Off to work on something for Eleanore now.
DSC_0082web

3 Responses to “Naptime solution!”

  1. motherofwonder Says:

    what a great idea!

  2. amy Says:

    wow!! Love the cozy nap, cushion, bed and the rainbow balls very nicely done you amaze me šŸ™‚

  3. Hanging out at home « Plath’s Adventures Says:

    […] the rainbow balls I knit for the rainbow swap? I was able to make it to the craft exchange this week and received a wonderful assortment of […]

Leave a Reply

