Weekend Reading

I may not have knit any stitches on my sock this past weekend while I was sick, but I did manage to read a few books. The first one I read, I did not want to finish. It was one of those books where you just want the characters to stay with you for a while.

Innocent Traitor by Alison Weir.
I checked this book out of the library because it appeared to be very reminiscent of Philippa Gregory’s novels, which I can’t get enough of. I love historical fiction especially during the Tudor period in England– so much violence, lust and decadence, it’s just fascinating. It’s even more exciting to me after visiting the Tower of London last year and seeing where it all happened. I’m getting goose bumps just thinking about it! This book did not disappoint me. It follows the life of Lady Jane Grey, the uncrowned nine day queen who reigned before Queen Mary, and really connects you to her, unlike some historical fiction I’ve read set during this time period. If you like Philippa Gregory’s novels, you will like this one.

Afte finishing that novel, I was still itching for more fiction, so I picked up this one:

Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs
This one is pretty good, by far one of the better knitting related novels I’ve ever read, but there’s just so much going on. It seems like there’s one catastrophe after another, and it does drag a bit. I’m wondering now if I would have liked it more if it was split up into two smaller novels. I’m just afraid everything’s going to wrap up at the end like a Brady Bunch episode. And they all lived happily ever after… I’m not quite finished with it yet, but we shall see.

5 Responses to “Weekend Reading”

  1. Sharon Says:

    I like Philippa Gregory too, so I just reserved your recommendation at the library. Thanks for the tip, Lisa. 🙂

  2. minnie Says:

    i’ve got the friday night knitting club in queue at the library, but i’m like 110th! i think it’s got someting to do with the fact that it’s coming out in a movie, with julia roberts, nonetheless!

  3. Maureen Says:

    Thanks for the reviews…I’ll check them out.

  4. Briana @ Horse Hound Knit Spin Says:

    Oooo! I love Philippa Gregory! I’m reading The Constant Princess right now. I’ll have to buy the Weir book. Thanks for the review!

  5. Meg Says:

    I’ve read a couple of Alison Weir’s biographies (I highly recommend Elizabeth I) but I had no idea she wrote fiction! Obviously I’ve been knitting too much and not reading enough. Thanks!

Leave a comment